Author Topic: $20 Craftsman LT1000 race mower.  (Read 9816 times)

Offline TokyoDrift99

• View Profile
$20 Craftsman LT1000 race mower.
« on: July 11, 2014, 01:07:16 am »
Hey guys, this is my first post and I figured I will share my project with everybody. Let me start off by saying that I have never built a racing mower before. Heck I have never even used a welder, but I plan to use this project as a canvas to practice my fabrication skills. I had  never even seen the internals of an engine before I tore into the Intek that came on my tractor, because my dad is the kind of person that lets other people do engine work for him. However I have built up quite a bit of knowledge on automotive engines by reading countless articles, and watching what is likely hundreds of YouYube videos. I would be willing to wager that if you set all the parts in front of me I could fully assemble a small block Chevy with no problems. I only have a basic crescent brand socket set, a impact driver, and A few other tools, but I plan to change that. I am going to borrow a welder from a friend, and basically teach myself to weld. I bought my LT1000 for $20, it has no hood, and it had a 18 horse Briggs Intek single that threw a rod. I planned to rebuild the motor, but the castings in the block that hold the camshaft in place were destroyed, because the cam got bent somehow. To add on to all that the cylinder wall was rusted from sitting outside, and it was missing the pushrods. I plan to put in a 16 horse Vangaurd v twin from a Husquvarna lawn tractor, the guy wants $125 so I guess it is an ok deal, but I will have to leave it bone stock for a while because I am on a very limited budget. The LT1000 originally had a hydrostatic transaxle, but I am trading the hydro for a Peerless 700, which is apparently a popular choice. I am going to use a 1 inch live rear axle, with a 8 inch rotor, and mechanical caliper form BMI karts. I plan to make a direct steer system, use the stock clutch with a stro