Author Topic: Peerless transmission  (Read 21581 times)

Offline element10554

• View Profile
Peerless transmission
« on: April 18, 2011, 09:57:54 pm »
Hey guys I am new to the forum and I have read through a couple of these threads pertaining to this topic as well as skimmed the manual. I am wondering how much power these transmissions hold up to? I have a gokart I would like to put this on, and I was wondering also how durable they are. Ive seen a lot about the 700 series which appears to be getting good reviews from you guys.

The numbers on my transmission come as followed: MOD 797   PEERLESS       0040 1034

This leads me to believe I have the 700 series. I obtained this transmission from craigslist for 20$. I have never worked with a transmission before and I am assuming I should inspect it before fabricating it onto my kart. I saw there was a thread for opening it up and cleaning the inside but because my knowledge on these is so minuscule I am afraid I wont be able to put it back together correctly. Should I attempt opening it up and cleaning it or should I just see how it works? Also if I were looking for an engine what shaft should the engine have that would mate up with this transmission?

I was also reading about taking out the reverse gear because it could fall apart and damage the transmission. I mainly want this on my go kart to have alot of torque for offroad and have a decent topend. I will not be slamming through gears or anything of that. Should I still take out my reverse chain? It would be great if I could keep it in there as reverse would be a great feature to have. Anyway to reinforce the chain?

Thanks for the help in advance guys.

Mike

Offline BigChuck

• Turf Warrior
  • Big Idea Racing
    • View Profile
Re: Peerless transmission
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2011, 10:04:49 pm »