Author Topic: "L" Spindle set-up  (Read 31558 times)

Offline Rooster

• Global Pot Stirrer
  • Highly Mowtivated
  • Winning is always fair!!
    • View Profile
    • Cut Loose Racing
Re: "L" Spindle set-up
« Reply #30 on: May 26, 2008, 02:45:41 am »
Well we started the front axle today, should be all welded up tommorow. Although I can weld, for a piece this important I left it to my friend who is a welder by trade.
I decided to not use the heim joints, as I may be pushing the rules as it is, lol, if this when passes my next one will include the adjustabilit of heims.
The stock craftsman axle had 10* of KPI built into it, so I left it at that.
Tracking width was 36" stock, our rules allow up to 42". I marked the axle tube even with the chassis, then cut it off 2" inside of that. These "stubs" mount to a plate on the outside of the chassis and a 2x2 tube welded between the plates on top of chassis for a brace. This should give me a 40" tracking width.
If I ever decide to use this mower in a ARMA race, I can move the inside hub in 1" per side.
The stub axles were welded in with 13* of caster. The mower will have 1-2" of rake in it so actual camber after lowering the rear should come out to between 11.5 - 12*. Depending on the actual finished rake.

I took some pictures, but having problems getting them into computer.

Thanks all for the help, as you can see I took advice from everyone. Hope it works well!
Bert stole my cookies!!
 I think he used them to bribe Ed into something naughty?

http://www.cutlooseracing.com

Wheelhorseracer

« Reply #31 on: May 26, 2008, 07:55:16 am »
That should work fine...

Sounds like you took in the info here and made great choices for your build... :D

Offline Rooster

• Global Pot Stirrer
  • Highly Mowtivated
    • View Profile
    • Cut Loose Racing
« Reply #32 on: May 27, 2008, 12:56:08 am »
Thought I'd add some pics.
Here is what I started with.