Author Topic: BuiltTough Mastercraft/MTD build  (Read 5273 times)

Offline BuiltTough

• View Profile
BuiltTough Mastercraft/MTD build
« on: April 15, 2018, 03:16:08 am »
Im just getting started on this build, its my first "real" build that will be more than simple pully swaps. There will be a delay in updates until i can dig the chassis out of the ice and snow holding on to it right now.

Until then ive been working on toughening up a new/factory refurbished Foote 4360-7 transaxle i got for free to replace the basic FNR on the original chassis. (I know alot of you dont feel the foote transaxles are good for racing, but it was free, and unless i get some sponsorship, im building with what i can get for free or cheap)

So far Ive inspected everything in the trans and found a few "weaknesses" such as excess lateral movement on the shafts actually allowing opposing gears to bump into each other, poorly cast axle slot edges contacting the axle and causing drag, etc. those were easy fixes.

I also noticed bottom housing was cast with bearing slots, and the top housing was not. I decided I wanted to make use of them and since im doing things on the cheap, i wasn't about to pay the local machine shop to cut the matching slots, so i pulled out my dremel and callipers and machined them out by hand. For using a dremel and my hands as a CNC, i think they turned out good. i think the bearings will help with alignment, and keep the axle rigid/stable within the housing while also reducing drag. You can see pics of that project in the driveline forum (adding bearings to foote 4360-7 transaxle thread)

I've given it a one piece axle, and locked it using a variation of the doc locker method (i dunno if doc sprocket is on this forum, but if he is, THANKS!)

I locked my axle in place with snap rings and machine washers, i dont know if its the normal practice, but i like to use machine washers in pairs whenever possible so they ride each other instead of riding on a wearable surface.