Author Topic: Question about varidrive  (Read 4257 times)

Offline BuiltTough

• View Profile
Question about varidrive
« on: April 08, 2018, 02:08:31 pm »
Hey guys, I’m just getting started on a build for our local mower race, and I know a lot of guys don’t recommend the varidrive but I still have some questions that I can’t seem to find the answer to.

1: I notice in a lot of rulesets centrifugal clutches and torque converters are prohibited. Why is that?

2: is a varidrive pulley considered a torque converter?

3: what I’d like to do, is utilize a varidrive pulley in my drivetrain, What I’m thinking is fix the varidrive pulley at a fixed location between my motor and my transaxle. I would use a spring loaded idler to take up the slack in the varidrive to trans belt when disengaged, and have my clutch provide the tension/take up the slack on the motor to varidrive belt when engaging the drive.

My thought is that this would give me control of my acceleration (provide the fast takeoff) with the clutch half released, and allow me to have the good top speed with the clutch fully released.  Would this theoretically work?

A little detail on the specs of the  build to help answer any questions. I will be running a 24HP b&s pro series vertical shaft, with ether a 7” or 8” pulley powering a 5speed transaxle (welded diff, and high performance gear oil) with a 2.5”-3” pulley on the trans.

The varidrive is a 6”x2.5” pulley I believe so in theory it would give me about a total 1:1.33 ratio starting and up to a 1:7 ratio fully engaged. (Not including transaxle gearing)

I will be custom building the front end and installing at minimum a rear disc brake. This is the towns first race ever so I really want to show them what’s possible “within their rules” to get the other gear heads motivated.

My last build was years ago and was a simple stock mower with a pulley swap (7”-3”) and 25” tires off my big old Honda big red. I want this one to be a little more bad