Author Topic: Briggs 31C707 build help  (Read 6276 times)

Offline cerialsledder

• View Profile
Briggs 31C707 build help
« on: August 19, 2017, 10:27:55 pm »
I'm new to briggs engines and am wondering if you guys could point me in the right direction for a 31C707 Engine I aquired.  I am currently running a Kohler CV490S and I am getting hammered coming out of the corners.  I have tried different gearing to no luck, I'm either wound out or am lugging pretty bad coming out of the corner.  Everyone seems to be running briggs except one guy running a kawasaki and I'm getting tired of not having enough motor.  I would build up the kohler better but it seems like the parts are more expensive than the briggs so I'm tired of being the oddball of the bunch and am ready to switch to briggs.   I want more punch coming out of the corners without sacrificing top end.  I am open to anything guys.  Thank you again!

Offline crazycraftsman

• Turf Warrior
    • View Profile
    • owen
Re: Briggs 31C707 build help
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2017, 10:03:42 pm »
What's your budget? What's your class rules on the engine?
owen
Lawnmower Racing in B.C   Canada
WMWS points cup winner BP 2016
Wmws points cup winner CP 2017
Wmws points cup winner CP 2018

Offline redline

• # I BROKE IT
  • Mow-Forum Junkie
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2017, 09:41:40 am »
When you run the same stuff as everyone else, you will run just like everyone else, unless driver and chassis are that much different..
But, then again, I always was a bit different.
If you are not limited to stock engines, I would stick with the Kohler and begin to modify it.

Otherwise, if you insist on the Briggs, Billet wheel. Port the head, mill .100" off it. Good carb. Isky #95 cam (if you manage to get in contact with him, or can find one).

If you want to come off the corner, go Tecumseh....but, not much availability and have to be creative.
Ed King

71.3% of the time, I'm right every time.