Author Topic: 42 oppy build (for longevity)  (Read 3065 times)

Offline Rikk

• View Profile
42 oppy build (for longevity)
« on: December 30, 2015, 04:55:32 pm »
Hello all, I've been lurking and reading here for awhile now trying to gain some oppy specific mods. I'm not necessarily looking for racing type performance, but for anything that will help a work engine without decreasing life. I've built a couple B&S Raptor flatheads and one Animal for my son's race kart. Restrictor plate stuff, but I did everything that I was allowed to by the WKA tech manual. His best finish was 3rd in points overall without any engine failures. I'm not claiming to be an engine builder, but I have been a machinist for 20+ years and have turned wrenches since I was a kid.

What I am working on is a 42 opposed for a friend of mine. It's for a stump grinder. It seemed low on power and smoked /used oil a lot. I pulled it down and found huge carbon deposits in one of the heads and a fair amount in the other. I lucked out and there isn't any type of a ridge that I can feel in the cylinder, so I think we can just freshen it up with a hone, rings and valves, but I need to measure everything yet. I plan on making sure everything is perfect spec wise before assembly. The list of things I am doing is below and I wanted to know if there is anything else I should be doing that may help with performance/efficiency without making it unreliably. This thing sometimes runs at the max rpm the governor allows for 6-8 hours at a time with only a break for lunch and fuel. Will verify rpms with one of my Mychron tachs just to know where we are at.

-Opposed rod oil mods
-Deburr everything in the rotating assembly
-Ensure the rod/piston assemblies are as close as possible in weight
-Grind the valves to within .0005" or better face/stem runout and lap with progressively finer diamond compounds
-Install bronze valve guides if they are worn
-Exhaust valve springs on both valves