Author Topic: Building a race track  (Read 13489 times)

Offline 48dodger

• View Profile
Building a race track
« on: May 27, 2012, 05:50:48 pm »
Not sure if this the right place to post this, but couldn't find a better place.
I've been building a race track for mower racing since 2008, out here in Northern California. But wasn't able to find like minded racers. So I left the track simple for my kids and I to race ATV's. A few months ago I contacted a LMR club called "The Sac Valley Mower Racers"....finally! Guys who race mowers. Seems most of them got started right as I quit looking...lol. So I've joined forces with Bob Newman, the club, and family to form "Estrada MotorSports Speedway, home track of the Sac Valley Mower Racers".... Its started, but far from finished. I have a facebook page for it if anyone wants to check it out there.

http://www.facebook.com/EstradaMotorSportsSpeedway?ref=tn_tnmn

I want the track to become sanctioned (USLMRA) and built as nice as possible. I've been racing for years....drag racing (68 Dodge), Street Stock (circle track 72 Charger), and Land Speed Racing at Bonneville Saltflats (1950 Dodge Truck). My brother owns A-1 Saw and Mower...he is sponsoring my son's build in BP class. I'm really looking forward to input and ideas from anyone who wants to share. 

The track is 800 feet centerline with a slight downhill on the front stretch and slight uphill leading into turn three. Turn three is a flat turn in comparison to the rest which causes turn 4 to be tight. The course is 30 plus feet wide through out. The dirt is loom with about 5% clay....stuff get  pretty hard when dry with plenty of dust. Should reshape well. A water truck is in the works. Reconstruction will begin after we do a few more test runs with the mowers.   

I am seriously open to your comments since I have not race a mower and/or built a mower specific track.

~Tim

"The Tim-MOW-nator"

http://www.youtube.com/user/EstradaMotorSports/videos