Author Topic: Best Mower to use....  (Read 5037 times)

Offline GrassRunner5

• View Profile
Best Mower to use....
« on: November 11, 2006, 05:25:55 pm »
I am new to Mower racing. And i wanna run either the f/x class or the b/p class.  Which would be the best mower to build into my monster? I do have a craftsman 2 that i stripped down last night. I was wondering if it would be easier to build a different make of mower. Any information will be great. My mower don't have to be ready till april of next year. But wanna Git-r-done.

Offline mowdak1

• Highly Mowtivated
    • View Profile
    • North Dakota Lawn Mower Racing Association
Re: Best Mower to use....
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2006, 06:33:08 pm »
Welcome to MowBetter!

Given options offered above, probably the BP, the mower you have there is going to be a bit large and heavy for FX. If you want to go FX look for something smaller and lighter, typically read 60's or earlier vintage, not much more than hood, floorpan, and a seat in configuration.

You are aware however that BP engines do get rather spendy? You might want to consider starting with an SP, where this chass would fit right in. And... if you're lucky and have a 12 hp, rather than the usual 11 hp craftsman setup, you could also use this engine as the basis for your racing engine. 

Offline GrassRunner5

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2006, 07:01:19 pm »
Thanks for the info. mowdak.  the bp class, is that a twin cylinder motor?  if so  what is the best mowtor to get my hands on? It can be just a stock motor.(Father inlaw owns a Lawn mower engine repair shop). He has the things to build my mowtor. 

Offline GrassRunner5

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2006, 07:34:19 pm »