Author Topic: Biulding a kohler engine  (Read 6237 times)

Offline Mike Kieffer

• Turf Warrior
    • View Profile
Biulding a kohler engine
« on: February 16, 2010, 10:14:38 am »
I am kinda new to this game I ran a kohler mv18 last year and it was compleatly stock. this year I would like to try to get some more out of it. can anyone share some info with me on how to do that.

Offline JD Mike

• View Profile
Re: Biulding a kohler engine
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2010, 01:38:16 pm »

Offline Mike Kieffer

• Turf Warrior
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2010, 03:42:11 pm »
Thank you for the link it looks like a great place for kohler v twin parts but the mv 18 is a apposed twin. I would like to get into a v twin in the near future but for now I must work with what I have.

Offline Caseracer

• Turf Warrior
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2010, 05:40:29 pm »
I don't know of anyone making parts for the Magnum.  Precision Cams could probably regrind your cam.  Stiffer springs and better retainers could maybe be borrowed from another engine.  The hard thing about building this motor is the lack of parts.  One cool thing is the crank rods and pistions from a MV20 or M20 will bring you up from 42 to 47 cubes.  I believe it has tremendous potential but it will take alot of experimentation (time and money).  If you find parts for it let me know.  I have a couple MV20's and a MV18 I was planning to play with later.

Jack Jones
Hard Case Racing
Shakin' by a Roller Kohler

Wheelhorseracer

« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2010, 05:52:42 pm »
I ran a Kohler Opposed MV18 In my first year. The big change was after I got a valve job done at Ryker Racing. I also shimmed the valve springs using a washer under the springs.

The big problem I found was fuel distribution.

I made a custom intake with different length runners to even out the mixture.