Author Topic: Someone please help...I'm a newbie  (Read 8692 times)

Offline vtwinjunkie

• View Profile
Someone please help...I'm a newbie
« on: September 18, 2006, 08:38:05 pm »
Hello, I saw your post and I need some parts for my mowchine.  I have a 14.5OHV Briggs, MTD transaxle with 3/4" axle.   I have a set of douglas rims for the rear.  3 hole on 2.5" centers.  I need the hubs to mount to the axle.  All I have been able to find is the 1" hubs(go kart style)  :( .  I haven't got the old wheels off yet, so I don't know if the axle is keyed or not.  Maybe you would know.  Can you please help me?  

Also, I don't have access to a welder and I need an exhaust header that is made to fit my mowchine.   I looked at g-team and they offer all the parts, but I still don't have a welder.  Any suggestions?  Thanks for your time, Josh

Offline MTDrider1160

• Turf Warrior
    • View Profile
    • PALMRA
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2006, 08:33:14 am »
The axle is probaly not keyed.  You shouldnt need a welder for the exhaust.  I personnaly wouldnt use the stock differential becuase it wont last too long.

Offline vtwinjunkie

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2006, 08:46:30 am »
I have came up with an exhaust system.  I found some 1.5" pipe elbows, and a turndown for a side exhaust.  However I am still trying to find either a 1" transaxle, or an adapter for my hubs.  Still no luck.  I finally got the old wheels off, after heating, spraying, heating spraying and beating the ever livin' crap out of them.  
You were right, they are not keyed.  What transaxle do you use.  Is there a 1" trans setup that will work with my MTD.  It is a 7 speed shift on the fly.   Another user had gave me a link to a sweet new Peerless on Ebay, but I don't have that kind of money to spend.  
I also need a front 5" and a rear 2" pulley.  The motor pulley is keyed, and the trans pulley is splined.  What do you run on your MTD?