Author Topic: Direct drive steering!? (New to lawn mower racing)  (Read 11329 times)

Offline danderduff

• View Profile
Direct drive steering!? (New to lawn mower racing)
« on: March 30, 2009, 02:44:29 pm »
Hey, im new to the lawn mower racing world. Im currently working on my Dynamark Racer. I am worried about my stock steering system giving out on me when im racing. I havnt raced yet but would hate to have it happen, especially in a race. From looking at my steering system, i have NO idea how to make it "direct drive" i also have no clue how to "beef" up the front end.  Right now, i do not see why i would have issues with handleing speed. But im sure it would just be really touchy when going down straitaways and such. I was thinking about maybe putting stiff springs on the steering to give it more resistance. I think that would make it less sensitive. 

But i do not know how to make it better than the way it already is. Any ideas to make it stronger and not so sensitive at higher speeds? I would prefer not to spend a million dollars on it either. All ideas would be greatly appreciated. THANKS!

Offline tonykummrow

• Turf Warrior
    • View Profile
Re: Direct drive steering!? (New to lawn mower racing)
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2009, 02:55:05 pm »
the reason for having to have direct steer is because the stock steering setup on a lawn mower is made for 7mph and that is it, they are very sloppy, and cant be controlled and speeds more then they were made for direct steer is relatively simple go to the search box at the top of the page and type in "direct steer" you will get lots of hits and their are also drawn diagrams of how to set it up. safety first. also look at some of the build threads they will help you out as well with your setup. just read read read
If mowers are a habit then I need an intervention

Offline flyinBranch

• AHLMR ACP
  • Turf Warrior
  • AHLMR Local chapter president
    • View Profile
    • American Heartland LawnMower Racers